New Ohio House Leadership: Republicans Choose Merrin to be Speaker

GOP members selected Rep. Derek Merrin as the next Speaker of the Ohio House of Representatives during an informal vote in November. The other contenders vying for the top spot included Rep. Jason Stephens (R-Kitts Hill), Rep. Phil Plummer (R-Dayton), and Rep. Brian Baldridge (R-Winchester). Merrin, heading into his fourth term, will represent the 42nd District which includes part of Lucas County. Due to term limits, Merrin is only eligible to serve two years as Speaker. “I am deeply humbled and honored by the trust and confidence the members have placed in me and will work each and every day to help them achieve their individual and collective goals,” said Speaker-Elect Merrin (R-Monclova Township). “We have a terrific group of new and returning members, from all backgrounds and all walks of life. Working together, we can conquer any challenge and help forge an even brighter future for the great state of Ohio.”

The House of Representatives will formally vote on the Speaker position in January. Other majority leadership positions include:   

  • Phil Plummer (R-Dayton), Speaker Pro Tempore
  • Scott Wiggam (R-Wayne County), Majority Floor Leader
  • Susan Manchester (R-Waynesfield), Asst. Majority Floor Leader
  • Brian Baldridge (R-Winchester), Majority Whip
  • Brian Stewart (R-Ashville), Asst. Majority Whip

As for the Democrats, Rep. Allison Russo was re-elected as House Minority Leader. “I am beyond grateful to my fellow Democratic members for being given the opportunity to lead our caucus once again in the next General Assembly. Together, this dedicated and diverse team will do whatever it takes to make Ohio the greatest state to raise a family and start a business. Our entire caucus is united in fighting for the freedoms we know Ohioans truly believe in,” said Leader Russo. “We look forward to working across the aisle with our Republican colleagues to ensure Ohioans have every opportunity to find good paying jobs, secure affordable and accessible healthcare, and maintain their fundamental freedoms to live and work with dignity.”

House Minority Leadership:

  • Allison Russo (D-Upper Arlington), Minority Leader
  • Dontavius Jarrells (D-Columbus), Assistant Minority Leader 
  • Jessica E. Miranda (D-Forest Park), Minority Whip
  • Tavia Galonski (D-Akron), Assistant Minority Whip
Article Categories